Devoiry Braunstein

Devoiry Braunstein

LATEST ARTICLE
Close Call
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Archive
Close Call
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
The more time passed, the more clarity I gained about what the problem had been with this friendship in the first place. And in one word, the answer was, “extreme”
Close Call
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Something struck me about this incident. Something strange and shocking. Something I didn’t dare tell Ahuva
Close Call
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
It was nice being around my old friend. It was comfortable and familiar. And most of all, normal
Close Call
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Miriam said she forgave me, but there was a layer of mistrust wedged between us that made me feel sick
Close Call
Wednesday, July 03, 2019
Ahuva didn’t have a problem with her mother. She was the problem. She had a handicap. She didn’t know how to handle people
Close Call
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
If I wondered how her husband felt toward our relationship, I shoved my worries aside. That was Ahuva’s concern, not mine
Close Call
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Smile, my brain screamed. Your best friend is getting married!
Close Call
Wednesday, June 12, 2019
“I’m getting married,” Ahuva said simply. “I’m old enough to choose my friends”
Close Call
Wednesday, June 05, 2019
“There’s nothing wrong with you. I’ve been cruel to you by imposing a relationship on you. I can’t help it. This is how I am. All or nothing”
Close Call
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Was it my imagination or did my mother look bewildered? There was nothing wrong with Ahuva. There was no reason my mother shouldn’t approve of our friendship
Close Call
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
We went from one “You too? I thought I was the only one!” to another. To my surprise, I found myself sharing my most intense thoughts and feelings, things I rarely told anyone