Joan Zlotnick

Joan Zlotnick

LATEST ARTICLE
Family Matters
Wednesday, October 02, 2019
Archive
Family Matters
Wednesday, October 02, 2019
He always thought of everything, so I didn’t have to. Now it was my job, and it was daunting
Family Matters
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
At a particular stage of my husband’s illness, it became clear that the shul we were attending no longer met our needs
Family Matters
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Seeing an older man holding the hand of his young grandchild on the way to school brings the proverbial lump to my throat
Family Matters
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
When you’re out there on your own, after almost half a century of marriage, as I was, socializing is very complicated
Family Matters
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Had the situation been reversed, I know that my husband z”l would’ve taken even better care of me than I did of him
Family Matters
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
I think the reason she chose me to be her confidante is obvious: I’d been a caregiver. I’d been there. I would get it
Family Matters
Wednesday, August 07, 2019
Once again, though, my assumption that this was the worst thing you could ever do to a loved one proved false
Family Matters
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
After about a year, it became clear to me that my husband belonged in a day-care program, but, of course, this was not something he’d agree to — and I knew better than to sug ...
Family Matters
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
I know this sounds unbelievable. A doctor who, for a year, would advise me — a person he’d never met — over the phone about a patient he had never seen?
Family Matters
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
In these instances, my instinct to spare my children and grandchildren was outweighed by my desperation