Leora Hammer

Leora Hammer

LATEST ARTICLE
Change of Heart
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Archive
Change of Heart
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
I do have a new understanding of how the world works. I knew it all along, but it’s a little more real to me now
Change of Heart
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
I didn’t want to do it in fear. I wanted to do it with trust. The ride of my life
Change of Heart
Wednesday, February 07, 2018
I am not in control. Nothing I do makes any difference. The thought came, not as a burst of sublime inspiration, but as a reflexive fact
Change of Heart
Wednesday, January 31, 2018
A tiny pause, like she wasn’t sure if she should believe me. “You understand why I’m asking. If there’s a medical issue, we need to know”
Change of Heart
Wednesday, January 17, 2018
The diver’s reflex: Fill a basin with ice water and plunge your head in. It works every time! This was getting better and better
Change of Heart
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
The scary part wasn’t the heart thing, and the scary part wasn’t the drugs. The scary part was the vulnerability
Change of Heart
Wednesday, January 03, 2018
“I feel pretty good,” I lied. “I’m just getting a headache.” A headache was nothing, I hadn’t eaten, I was stressed, I don’t even know why I said it
Change of Heart
Wednesday, December 27, 2017
I sucked in another breath, somehow I walked to the car. By the time we got to the hospital I could no longer walk
Serial
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
I only go to high and mighty doctors. I had researched this doctor obsessively. I believe in obsessive research in prin ...
Family Diary
Tuesday, December 12, 2017
I was exhausted — my heart had been racing, like I was running a marathon, for close to ten hours. But I wasn ...