Leah Gebber

Leah Gebber

LATEST ARTICLE
Wednesday, May 01, 2019
Archive
Turning Tides
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
I almost fainted at this blatant anti-Semitism. I quickly ran through appropriate responses in my head, and rejected them all. It would be a waste of breath to even respond
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
She rocks his shoulder, just slightly. “Forgive me, Papa, for robbing you of your sleep, but I am sorely in need of your wisdom”
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
She closes the book, thinks of the parchment. The only thing she does know is that Heaven wanted Jocef’s strange work to come to her hands
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
She turns to face him. “I did not come here for this. I came to tell you that you should be walking. But you offend me”
Windows
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
The name Berel elicited a sigh — apparently, it wasn’t easy to help Berel. He was too rich, too poor, too independent, too much of a nebach
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
The glass is thick; cheaply made. But there is something inside it, she is sure. She holds it tight, and wades back to the shore
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, March 07, 2018
As the land recedes behind them, Ramon stares. Africa. Home of riches and cruelty. The glitter of gold and flash of blood
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Papa holds out his hand. “Brother Garcon,” he says in greeting. He will not dip his head, for the icon the man wears on a thick gold chain
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Something inside her burns. She steps forward. “We are indeed honored by your suggestion, but I am afraid we must decline”
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
“If their menfolk are lost in the ocean’s waves, then these women will curse you and your luck will fail, and most likely your fortune too”
Map the Starlight
Wednesday, February 07, 2018
He looks. Three pieces of paper. One rough pen. A vial of ink. She speaks. “So that you can teach me,” she says